Mosaicultures

Vegetal artworks

A mosaiculture is a form of art which consists of creating patterns, words, images or characters using plants varying in colours and shapes. This ornamental method is commonly used for two dimensional pieces. There are many on display in public gardens and multiples municipalities. Three dimensional mosaicultures are more complex since it requires knowledge concerning sculptures and horticulture. For this reason, these structures are vegetal art pieces!    

The first mosaiculture was built at the Park!

The first three-dimensional mosaiculture was built at the Parc Marie-Victorin of Kingsey Falls. Now a horticultural signature and the stars of the Parc Marie-Victorin, the giant three-dimensional mosaicultures consist of one of the principal attractions of the site, especially due to the fact that there are ten of them. The Park is the only garden to host so many permanently... Come and see for yourself!

The story behind those vegetal artworks

Everything began in 1997 when horticulturist Normand Francoeur and Daniel Paradis, a technical counselor of Cascades greatly implicated in his community, produced the first three-dimensional mosaiculture. It was a gardener who’s main function was to welcome the visitors during the popular “Festival des jardiniers” of Kingsey Falls. This mosaiculture was later reprised by the “Jardin botanique de Montréal”. A similar art piece can now be found near the tropical greenhouse. This first mosaiculture rapidly caught the attention in the horticultural domain, especially in China. This country demanded the exchange of expertise for their arrangements. Year after year, new mosaicultures are added which gives the Parc Marie-Victorin a distinctive signature.   

The arrival in 2006 of the one-eyed sphinx caterpillar, a truly colossus mosaiculture with its three meters high and five meters long, marked an important date. The same goes with the addition of five mosaiculture in 2008. The inauguration of the Giant’s path, the sixth themed garden revealed in 2011, enables the visitors to discover an impressive collection of those vegetal artworks, including a representation of Brother Marie-Victorin finding the dwarf thistle. This three-dimensional mosaiculture is almost six feet high and is composed of 13 400 plants. Considered as one of the builders of the Parc Marie-Victorin, this passionate is the chief horticulturist for “Mosaïculture internationales de Montréal” and as of today, his expertise is recognized world-wide.     

How to build a mosaiculture

The mosaicultures are placed on a structure of metal covered with a geotextile fabric. The gardeners fasten the fabric to the structure and fill it up with soil, granular fertilizer and compost. The fabric is then perforated with a dibber and the plants are inserted in a way to allow them to branch out and eventually cover the entire surface. This long process can take up to three weeks at twelve individuals depending on the size of the artwork!

The alternanthera is communly used for this type of art due to the different sizes, shapes and colours of the leaves which brings the mosaicultures to life. The alternanthera originates from the tropics. It can easily support partial shade and different cuts. This plant needs a good soil and constant humidity. The althernanthera, santolina, echeveria, hemigraphis and sedum are the main plants used for the mosaicultures of the Parc Marie-Victorin.  

The horticulturists favour those plants since they expand as the season goes by, vigorous and tolerate the shape and cut imposed upon them every week. On the other hand, they have to look out for fungal diseases which could ruin all their hard work. Since it’s an artificial environment, the use of fertilizer is needed. However, our horticulturists only use natural fertilizers mixed with water directly pumped from the river. The same procedure is used throughout our gardens. Finally, since these are annual plants, the plants freeze during the fall and the whole process has to be restarted in the following spring. A meticulous and grandiose work to visit!  

Nearly 20 years after the first construction of a three-dimensional mosaiculture, the Parc Marie-Victorin is a great place to admire numerous vegetal artworks, each grandiose and amazing. Come and visit them from June 1st to October 14th

Facebook Twitter Trip Advisor Pinterest
385, boul. Marie-Victorin, Kingsey Falls (Quebec) J0A 1B0 1 888-753-7272 - 819 363-2528 info@parcmarievictorin.com

Réservez pour vos party des fêtes... Une ambiance chaleureuse pour célébrer!

Mosaïcultures

Fonctionnement

La mosaïculture est l’art de composer des massifs de végétaux en variant les couleurs et les formes afin de créer des motifs, des mots, des images ou des personnages. Cette méthode d’ornementation se pratique le plus souvent en deux dimensions. On en rencontre dans plusieurs jardins publics et diverses municipalités. Plus complexes, les mosaïcultures tridimensionnelles, alliant sculpture et horticulture, sont de véritables œuvres artistiques végétales!

La première mosaïculture a vu le jour au Parc!

C’est au Parc Marie-Victorin de Kingsey Falls, qu’a vu le jour la première mosaïculture tridimensionnelle! Signature horticole et vedettes du Parc Marie-Victorin, les mosaïcultures géantes en trois dimensions constituent l’une des attractions principales du site, qui en compte 10. Le Parc demeure le seul jardin à en héberger autant de façon permanente… Profitez-en!

La petite histoire derrière ces œuvres végétales.

Tout débute en 1997, alors que l’horticulteur Normand Francoeur et Daniel Paradis, un conseiller technique de Cascades grandement impliqué dans sa communauté, réalisent la première mosaïculture en trois dimensions. Il s’agit d’un jardinier destiné à accueillir les visiteurs à l’occasion du populaire Festival des jardiniers présenté à Kingsey Falls, avant d’être repris au jardin botanique de Montréal. Une œuvre similaire à cette création se trouve aujourd’hui à proximité de la serre tropicale. Cette première mosaïculture attire donc rapidement l’attention dans le domaine horticole, notamment de la Chine, qui demande un partage d’expertise pour ses aménagements. Année après année, de nouvelles mosaïcultures géantes s’ajoutent à la collection et confèrent au Parc Marie-Victorin une signature unique.

L’arrivée en 2006 de l’immense chenille sphynx du saule, véritable colosse avec ses trois mètres de hauteur et ses cinq mètres de longueur, constitue une date marquante. Il va de même pour l’ajout de cinq nouvelles mosaïcultures en 2008. L’inauguration du Parcourt du géant, le sixième jardin thématique dévoilé en 2011, permet effectivement de découvrir des œuvres d’art végétal absolument impressionnantes, dont une représentant le frère Marie-Victorin qui découvre son fameux chardon de Mingan. À l’instar de ses semblables, cette mosaïculture tridimensionnelle, faisant près de six mètres et composée de 13 400 plants, a été réalisée sous la supervision de Normand Francoeur. Comptant parmi les bâtisseurs du Parc Marie-Victorin, ce passionné agit notamment comme horticulteur en chef pour Mosaïcultures internationales de Montréal, et son expertise est aujourd’hui reconnue partout sur la planète.

Comment on fabrique une mosaïculture?

Les mosaïcultures sont aménagées sur une structure de métal couverte d’une toile géotextile. Les jardiniers attachent cette membrane à la structure et la remplissent de terre, d’engrais granulaire et de compost. La membrane est ensuite percée avec un plantoir et les plans sont insérés en quinconce de manière à recouvrir toute la surface. Ce travail, très long, peut prendre jusqu’à trois semaines à une douzaine de personnes selon la grosseur de l’oeuvre!

Par la grande variété de tailles, de formes et de couleurs de son feuillage, l’alternanthéra est sans doute la plante qui se prête le mieux aux jeux de couleurs des mosaïcultures. L’alternanthéra est d’origine tropicale. Elle supporte bien la mi-ombre et les tailles fréquentes. Elle a besoin d’un bon sol et d’humidité constante. Avec l’alternanthéra, la santoline, les echeverias, les hemigraphis et le sedum sont les principales plantes utilisées dans la composition des mosaïcultures du Parc Marie-Victorin.

Les horticulteurs favorisent ces plantes parce qu’elles se ramifient bien, elles sont vigoureuses et tolèrent les formes et la taille qu’on leur impose souvent chaque semaine. Ils doivent cependant porter une attention particulière aux maladies fongiques qui peuvent anéantir tout leur travail. Comme il s’agit d’un milieu artificiel, il faut utiliser des engrais. Mais nos horticultures utilisent uniquement des engrais et des fertilisants naturels mélangés à l’eau pompée à même la rivière. La même procédure est d’ailleurs employée partout dans nos jardins. Enfin, comme il s’agit d’annuelles, les plants gèlent à l’automne et tout est à recommencer au printemps suivant. Un travail minutieux et grandiose à visiter!

Près de 20 ans après cette innovation que constitue la création des mosaïcultures tridimensionnelles, le Parc Marie-Victorin constitue le lieu par excellence pour admirer un grand nombre de ces créations végétales aussi grandioses et étonnantes les unes que les autres. Venez les rencontrer du 3 juin au 9 octobre!

Facebook Twitter Trip Advisor Pinterest
385, boul. Marie-Victorin, Kingsey Falls (Québec) J0A 1B0 1 888-753-7272 - 819 363-2528 info@parcmarievictorin.com